Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu Senior Reactor Operator honeypot

Author Topic: Senior Reactor Operator  (Read 87696 times)

jasonmsmith

Senior Reactor Operator
« on: Apr 19, 2005, 11:01 »
I am a Naval Submarine Officer that is planning on leaving the navy within a year.  I would like to get into the training pipeline for an SRO license.  Is this an easy transition to make???  I have an engineering background in college, which hopefully will help me. 

I would also like to settle in the upper midwest, what do people think about the plants in Minnesota, Wisconsin, and Michigan?

Thanks for the info.

Offline Nuclear NASCAR

• Electrician
  • Forum Administrator
  • Everyone needs a Harley. Mine's furry with 4 legs.
Re: Senior Reactor Operator
« Reply #1 on: Apr 19, 2005, 01:18 »
The first thing to do is a search of the site using SRO as a criteria.  You'll probably find most of the answers you're looking for.  If you've still got questions feel free to post them and someone will have the answer.  Welcome to Nukeworker.
"There is much pleasure to be gained from useless knowledge."

-Bertrand Russell

halflifer

« Reply #2 on: Apr 19, 2005, 03:11 »
I'm assuming that you are a Nuke officer. In any event, the most common path to SRO is to do time as an Aux Operator (kind of like standing and engine room or AMR watch), then you can become an ACRO (Alternate Control Room Operator) and CRO/RO (Control Room Operator or Reactor Operator - different plants call them different things). CRO/RO are licenced positions, but are still Bargaining Unit Positions at Union plants. Then, after several yrs as CRO/RO, you may be selected by management for SRO. This whole process will probably take you at least 6 yrs (probably more since most plants are top heavy with CRO/RO types.