Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu HP + Electronics = ???

Author Topic: HP + Electronics = ???  (Read 11261 times)

Offline UncaBuffalo

• Mostly Retired
  • Very Heavy User
  • "How Many Things I Have No Need Of" - Socrates
HP + Electronics = ???
« on: Jul 02, 2005, 07:54 »
Okay, I've been a HP tech for about 20 years...now the unemployment people are paying to re-train me as an electronics technician.  Here are my questions  :

1)  Is there any way I can combine the two fields to take of advantage of the past 20 years of work experience?   

2)  Or should I take the pay cut and start at the bottom of the food chain in electronics?

3)  And how much better is a bachelor's going to be than an associate's?  (I would have to take about 18
     additional credits to make the associate's a bachelor's...not sure whether I should just concentrate on the
     associate's for now and pick up the bachelor's after I'm working again.  Or try to cram the 18 credits into this
     summer and the next couple semesters...)

Thanks for any ideas and advice.  :)
« Last Edit: Jul 03, 2005, 12:38 by UncaBuffalo »
We are plain quiet folk and have no use for adventures. Nasty disturbing uncomfortable things! Make you late for dinner! I can’t think what anybody sees in them.      - B. Baggins

RAD-GHOST

Re: HP + Electronics = ???
« Reply #1 on: Jul 03, 2005, 01:41 »
Good for You!

1.  Yep!  Instrument Tech, Video Tech, I&C Tech and the list goes on!

2.  You'll probably start at the bottom in all cases, but wont be there long!!

3.  Any pedigree is better then none, the Faster the Better! 

I would suggest checking out your state's requirements for Low Voltage Electrical Contractor License.  You may be rather surprised at the demand and wind up leaving nuke in the dust!

Hope this helps, RG.... ;)

raymcginnis

« Reply #2 on: Jul 03, 2005, 08:33 »