Career Path > Training, Tests & Education

Over educated & over ignorant?

<< < (2/4) > >>

halflifer:
also, if you do go AO, you will find you have a lot of time to study, particularly on back shift. getting an additional degree in Business Mgmt or Personell Mgmt will help open doors to the highest levels of plant management.

JnyMac:
I am an AO.  Great position to start in.  I did the RP gig for 13 years.  At our plant if you have a good atttude, do your job, keep you mouth closed and ears open, and your nose clean you can advance rather quickly.  We have guys in our AO ranks with multiple degrees, SRO licensed at other facilities, and supervisors from other departments.  The AO gig is a pretty good job.  I have no complaints.

thenuttyneutron:
I just started this week as an AO.  So far I love it.  You know when 8 hours flies by that the job you are in is good.  I have a Nuclear engineering degree and would not have it any other way than to go AO.  In the last 2 days I have learned so much and I like the people who are training me.  Good luck.

hamsamich:
I was an AO and chem tech before deciding to do the traveling HP gig.  Advancement is sometimes the ONLY thing available.  What I mean is, AOs are expected to move up at some plants, or they have to bid out of ops, or go somewhere else.  I didn't want to take the next step (RO) so I moved to chem tech.  The "fish bowl" just wasn't for me.  Take a good look at what ROs and SROs do and make sure you are ready for that kind of life and commitment.  I'd work as an AO again, but 5 months vacation isn't available.  Too bad there aren't many contract AO positions.  I liked some parts of the job.

raymcginnis: