Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu Nuclear Operator Hierarchy?
honeypot

Author Topic: Nuclear Operator Hierarchy?  (Read 13110 times)

DipDog3

Nuclear Operator Hierarchy?
« on: Jul 25, 2005, 02:05 »
Could someone please give me a very detailed description of the hierarchy within a civilian nuke plant?
Where do all the different operators, engineers, managers, etc. fit.

Also, what experience levels are required for each level (like how long to be a RO or SRO)?

Since I have no experience in a power plant, I really need some help so I won't look stupid at my interview.

Thanks in advance.

JnyMac

Re: Nuclear Operator Hierarchy?
« Reply #1 on: Jul 25, 2005, 03:41 »
All of the disciplines you are asking about are seperated at our power plant.  I am in Operations. Ours goes like this.  Ops Director, 3 Unit Department Leaders, Site Shift Manager, Shift Manager, Control Room Supervisor, Senior Reactor Operator, Reactor Operator, and Non-Licensed Operator.   The other departments have a similar chain.  They all report to the site Nuclear Plant Manager.  We have an VP of Engineering, looking for VP Operations, and the report to Sr. VP Nuclear.  He reports to President downtown.  Key thing is they all have input into the plants day to day ops.  The guys in the control have the ultimate responsibility because they are the ones with their name on the License.  Hope this helps.

Offline hamsamich

• Very Heavy User
  • And did I hear a 9er in there?
« Reply #2 on: Jul 28, 2005, 10:54 »