Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu What to do honeypot

Author Topic: What to do  (Read 6525 times)

aabrams

What to do
« on: Feb 06, 2005, 08:03 »
   I am a former Navy Chief ELT with 5 years of Ops experience and 4 years of instructor experience.  I have a BS in Radiation Protection and have passed the NRRPT exam and will be starting a Masters of Health Physics this summer.  I am currently an Engineering Duty Officer, and am considering departing the Navy.  What opportunities are out there in HP?  What kind of salary should I be looking for in the northeast?  What other certs should I pursue?  I know I need to take ABHP Pt 1. I'm looking for permanent positions in power generation, pharmaceuticals, hospitals etc.  Thanks for any guidance.
« Last Edit: Feb 07, 2005, 03:24 by aabrams »

Offline Already Gone

• Curmudgeon At Large
  • Very Heavy User
  • Did I say that out loud?
Re: What to do
« Reply #1 on: Feb 06, 2005, 08:30 »
You didn't mention taking the ABHP Part 1 Exam.  Someone pursuing a MS in Health Physics or Radiation Protection is normally going to look for certification.  You should me more than eligible to sit for the Part 1 exam at this point.
BTW, and just to nitpick, but we who took the NRRPT Exam are in no way "certified".

I hate to pound on yet another Navy guy, but RTFP!!!!!!   As a former instructor, you will recognize that to mean Read the Postings.  If you want to know what jobs are available, and what they pay, look at the jobs section at the top of the home page.  That's a lookup for you.
"To be content with little is hard; to be content with much, impossible." - Marie von Ebner-Eschenbach

aabrams

« Reply #2 on: Feb 07, 2005, 07:43 »