Career Path > General

midlife switch into nuke -- is it too late?

(1/1)

newnuke:
Hi, my first post....   This website has great information, so I'm hoping some of you out there can give me advice on a career transition into nuke.

I'm a 45-year-old mechanical engineer with zip, zilch experience in the nuclear industry -- all my experience is in semiconductor and computer manufacturing.   

I would like to switch careers into nuclear but have no idea how to start or even if its realistic now.    If I can make the switch, I'd like to stay in nuke permanently and work there the next twenty years.

Some questions:   
1)   What training programs are out there for engineers looking to switch into nuke?     What is a good foot in the door for a mechanical engineer with no nuke background?    I'm very willing to start with a position for which I'm overqualified and work my way up.

2)    What is the general job market like?    Do you see the overall job market getting better, stagnant or worse over the next few years?

3)   How common are layoffs?

3)   Is it even worth making the switch at this time of my life, or is it unrealistic given the nature of the industry?

Thanks a lot for your input.

hamsamich: