Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu Thomas Edison BSAST degree and QAI  

Author Topic: Thomas Edison BSAST degree and QAI  (Read 11219 times)

gregg098

Thomas Edison BSAST degree and QAI
« on: Jan 28, 2006, 12:09 »
Im just curious, based on personal experience, how useful is the Thomas Edison University BSAST in Nuclear Technology for getting a decent job after the Navy? It just seems like such a cheesy degree since they give navy nukes so much credit for power school. Will employers see this degree and not think a whole lot about it? Or will it help just because I can say "I have a degree"?

Also, Im qualified QAI. Im told that also looks good on a resume. Will this qualification help me out on the outside? Just curious what other opportunities it could open up for me.

Any other suggestions for quals that will really help me out on the outside besides watch supervisor?

Thanks for all of your help.

Rad Sponge

Re: Thomas Edison BSAST degree and QAI
« Reply #1 on: Jan 28, 2006, 08:10 »
It really depends on your career plans...

It really depends on your Navy experience...

It really depends on the whole package...

Why such a vague answer? Because there is no set answer for your question. SInce leaving the Navy, I have been offered jobs by federal and private companies to be a SRO-trainee, Health Physicist (not tech, but a professional HP), and a Chemist.

All these jobs had a base salary between 58-68K and included the full bene package and RELO. Do I have an engineering degree? NO. Am I a ABHP certified HP? NO. Do I have a degree in Chemistry? NO. Do I have a degree? Yes. A BA in Liberal Arts from Thomas Edision State College.

So that should answer at least one concern? The most important thing is HAVING a degree from an ACCREDITED institution of higher learning and TESC satisfies that 100%.