Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu Geiger Counter Recommendation

Author Topic: Geiger Counter Recommendation  (Read 18805 times)

childoftechnology

Geiger Counter Recommendation
« on: Feb 24, 2006, 07:02 »
  This is my first post to this site, I'm rather new to this stuff but I was hoping someone could give me some advice. I'm looking for a geiger counter that will measure not only beta and gamma rays, but alpha and X-rays also. The reason for X-ray measurement is because I collect and work on antique TV sets, and I'm sure many of them put out far more radiation than a modern set (modern sets can also put out unhealthy levels under certain conditions). I'd like to see just what I'm getting exposed to, and make sure that if I want to have kids someday I won't have to adopt  ;)
  I'd also like some measurement of alpha rays, mostly just for curiosity like checking for radium dials on old watches and clocks. I'd also like to be able to do my own checks for radon in my basement, but I'm not sure if the average geiger counter can do that or not.
  I recently purchased a CDV-700-6b geiger counter, the machine will produce a few clicks with the built-in test strip, but that's about it. Doesn't seem to detect X-rays at all. I'm guessing it's just not designed for that purpose.
  I've been looking on Ebay at some other units that are supposed to measure alpha and X-rays. There are several Eberline units like the ASP2-E, and one or two more-expensive units by Gamma Scout. (the gamma scout doesn't specify X-ray detection however).
  So can anyone give me some recommendations? I'd like to find something that will meet these needs, without spending a fortune. I figured this was the best place to find advice on this subject.
  Thanks for any advice.

Offline thenukeman

• Very Heavy User
  • Elements Rule Battle , Elementis Regamus Proleium
Re: Geiger Counter Recommendation
« Reply #1 on: Feb 24, 2006, 08:17 »