Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu Will The Navy Screw Me Over??

Author Topic: Will The Navy Screw Me Over??  (Read 53376 times)

dpalm2

Will The Navy Screw Me Over??
« on: Mar 02, 2006, 12:20 »
Hi,

This is my first post ever and definitely not my last. I have 60 credit hours from the Univ. of Illinois in champaign-urbana in the nuclear engineering program.  I have no military experience.  I've read several things about the possible benefits of committing to the 6 year navy nuclear program for officers after I have my degree.  I'm worried that it's not all true. First of all, I can easily get in with a 3.9 GPA at one of the best Eng. Universities around.  I've heard that I can get a $10k signing bonus AND about $2500 a month for up to 30 months.  Is this possible to get even if I only want the money but do not really need it?  Will they do a credit check and see that I don't really need the money for school and give me a lousy contract?  Secondly, what if I get to the officer candidate school and despite the fact that I’m at least a decent physical specimen, don't make it as an officer for some reason?  Do I have to enlist or maybe pay them back?  Next, is the school that I'll end up at as an officer separate from those out of high school? The last thing I want is to be in another class I where I should be the one teaching it.  I’m thinking it will be a challenge though.  Sorry I'm such a "NUB" with so many questions.  The last thing I wanted to ask was if I can be guaranteed placement in the nuclear field.  If so, is there any way that they can agree to never put me a sub (I realize I'm getting greedy).  Thank you so much for answering any of my questions.  On a parting note, I'd just like to say that I want to serve because I, unlike so many people today, still believe in my country and will not mind making a sacrifice for it, as it has done so much for me! Thanks again,

Dave

taterhead

Re: Will the navy screw me over?