Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu SGPO Questions, Do I even have a chance?

Author Topic: SGPO Questions, Do I even have a chance?  (Read 28602 times)

aturner

SGPO Questions, Do I even have a chance?
« on: Apr 26, 2006, 03:34 »
     Hi all.  This is my first time posting so if I ask questions already answered, just tell me.  There looks to be lots of information here and I'm sure I haven't touched the tip of it.

To get to my question, I have applied for the SGPO position posted by TVA.  I have also received notification of my testing date.  My guess is there are probably lots of people who are set to take the test as well.  I received my degree in CS, minor in math, in December 05.  My whole time thru college I worked full time during the day in a manual labor job in a shop environment(not power related).  After graduating my wife and I moved from NE Alabama to Southern California as she is a travel nurse.  We are now making plans to get back home and the SGPO job was very appealing.  I am working in CS right now with no worries, but realize I feel more at home with a hands-on type job.  The SGPO seemed like possibly a good chance to combine my work background with a degree and make a career out of it.  Am I stretching to make this??  I realize that engineering degrees are preferred and that alone may kick me out of it (I really hope not!) we'll just have to wait and see.  I just wanted to get a feel from some people in the industry.  Any comments, suggestions, or questions will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance for any help provided.

Fermi2

Re: SGPO Questions, Do I even have a chance?
« Reply #1 on: Apr 26, 2006, 04:43 »
You can get an SGPO position without having any kind of degree at all.
Also having a degree helps get an interview, but after that is meaningless so far as SGPO selection.

Good Luck!

Mike

Offline Roll Tide

• Nearly SRO; Previous RCO / AUO / HP Tech / MM1ss
  • Very Heavy User