Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu How do I become a Nuclear Reactor Service Technician?

Author Topic: How do I become a Nuclear Reactor Service Technician?  (Read 13131 times)

Wannabe

I'm a college student now, studying business.  I recently talked with a Level II Nuke Reactor Service Tech.  He travels around from Nuke Reactors all across the world.  He says his main duties are refueling and inspecting.  What is the best route to go after this job for a young man like myself?  I'm extremely interested in a position like this.  Thanks in Advance

Offline Roll Tide

• Nearly SRO; Previous RCO / AUO / HP Tech / MM1ss
  • Very Heavy User
  • Those who wait upon God..rise up on eagles' wings
Re: How do I become a Nuclear Reactor Service Technician?
« Reply #1 on: Jun 12, 2006, 11:32 »
My gut feeling is to get on with a utility and qualify through SRO (or at least RCO). While it will take time to get there, you would then be at that place in your career to make a jump over to reactor service tech. Of course, you might compare the money first; licensed (RCO) and senior licensed (SRO) personnel make pretty good money in this business.
We hold these truths to be self-evident, that all men are created equal, that they are endowed by their Creator with certain unalienable Rights, that among these are Life, Liberty and the pursuit of Happiness.
And for the support of this Declaration, with a firm reliance on the protection of divine Providence, we mutually pledge to each other our Lives, our Fortunes and our sacred Honor.

atomicarcheologist

« Reply #2 on: Jun 12, 2006, 12:23 »
Call the companies that do the reactor servicing.  They are all hiring.

Wannabe

« Reply #3 on: Jun 14, 2006, 08:18 »
Thanks for the replies, are there any Reactor Service Techs on this board?  If so, what sort of degree do you have or what kind of degree are they looking for?  Thanks in Advance

vikingfan

« Reply #4 on: Jun 15, 2006, 08:15 »
Wannabe,