Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu Mechnical Engineer with Desicions to Make... honeypot

Author Topic: Mechnical Engineer with Desicions to Make...  (Read 6245 times)

CConzelmann

Mechnical Engineer with Desicions to Make...
« on: Jul 15, 2006, 11:15 »
First off, thank you everyone for your willingness to help someone like me out.  I figure I can never have too much information.  Also, I apologize for my lack of/understanding of military acronyms.  I am pretty new to this.

I am a Mechanical Engineering student grauduating with my B.S. this December, and I want to do something meaningful with my life.  I have had three internships, and I have realized sitting at a desk in a cube farm does not fit my personality.  I have been strongly pursueing what the Navy's Nuclear Reactor Engineer/NUPOC program has to offer (although I am missing out of getting paid for my last 30 months of school), and I am very interested.  I head to Bangor, WA for NVIP Tour next week and I have MEPS on Monday.  The truth is I enjoy engineering, but I would like to at the same time serve my country.  From what it sounds like being a SWO would be a lot of paper pushing, and very little to no engineering.  But would Nuclear Reactor Engineer be any better, or would I just be writing technical manuals with no design?  I am looking for some insight on which program would be better for someone who wants to get their hands dirty and do actual engineering work, while at the same time serving in the U.S. Navy.

Thank you again.     

Fermi2

Re: Mechnical Engineer with Desicions to Make...
« Reply #1 on: Jul 15, 2006, 12:06 »
You aren't going to get any real engineering work anywhere in the navy. Design is done by contractors or shipyards. There may be some verification on the Navies part, but if you're looking for Down and Dirty Engineering, vice being a technician with an Engineering degree you won't find that in the canoe club.

Mike

CConzelmann

« Reply #2 on: Jul 15, 2006, 12:53 »