Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu Best New Reactor Design

Author Topic: Best New Reactor Design  (Read 97153 times)

Offline Roll Tide

• Nearly SRO; Previous RCO / AUO / HP Tech / MM1ss
  • Very Heavy User
  • Those who wait upon God..rise up on eagles' wings
Re: Best New Reactor Design
« Reply #25 on: Dec 05, 2006, 07:33 »
Roll Tide,

I could go on and on with specific details but until you get a BWR license it would be pointless.  Forgive my lack of patience... I have a small pet peeve about people speaking about subjects they know little about.

Both reactor designs are safe.  I take professional exception to your comment of your community not wanting a BWR in their backyard.

As a previously PWR licensed RO, my understanding of a BWR is greater than that of the general public. I also have worked at a BWR, but not in OPS. When I was a contract HP tech, I experienced a vast difference in dose received by the workers at BWRs vs. PWRs. PWR off-gas releases should have more impact than BWR liquid releases, though both have been evaluated as acceptable levels.

As a former Navy Nuke, I realize that I am prejudiced against intentionally boiling in the core. Based on much of the PR from the Navy's days of building a nuke fleet, there is a similar consensus among relatively informed members of my community.

You are free to take professional exception to my preference for an AP1000 over an ABWR in my community, but the community already has their own desires. Before you ignore this group as an ignorant bunch of farmers, realize that many retired there after construction halted on Bellefonte. Few are operators, but many participated in construction of TVAN and other nuclear plants. Some came out of retirement to work the Browns Ferry Unit 1 Restart, along with the children and grandchildren of that generation of nukeworkers.