Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu Newbie here - question honeypot

Author Topic: Newbie here - question  (Read 4866 times)

brandytaj

Newbie here - question
« on: Sep 09, 2006, 09:08 »
Hey everyone. 

I have a question for you - and maybe it sounds crazy, but it's a real question.

Is there any possible merits to getting out at your 15 year point?  MM Surface, E6, family at home.  Decided at the 10 year point to re-enlist to get retirement and forever medical benefits, but halfway through these 10 years, getting out in a few months sure would be nice!

Just can't seem to really come up with a way to make up the retirement $$ financially in the long term.  Only 5 more years...

Offline Marlin

• Forum Staff
  • Stop Global Whining!!!
Re: Newbie here - question
« Reply #1 on: Sep 09, 2006, 09:40 »
My first LELT in the Navy got out at the 19 year mark just short of retirement. He was a single parent with two teenage sons. He felt they needed him more that the Navy who wanted to send him to sea for his last year. No matter what the rhetoric, the Navy has to make decisions based on its needs and they come first. Money should never be the reason to stay in the Navy you would not be doing the Navy our yourself a service.
« Last Edit: Sep 09, 2006, 08:11 by Marlin »

brandytaj

« Reply #2 on: Sep 09, 2006, 10:13 »
Great points.

Truth be told, I'm the spouse here.  I'm not trying to convince him of anything, simply he's out to sea right now and the slow internet combined with lack of free time means that he can't sign on here himself.

My father was a nuke when I was a kid, he got out and worked at plants from Syracuse to Rancho Seco.  He left the industry (somewhat) about 8 years ago and currently owns an IT company.  All I know is Nukes ;)