Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu NUF

Author Topic: NUF  (Read 11613 times)

tiger

NUF
« on: Sep 11, 2006, 11:58 »
Help needed
I have never worked on a commercial outage, thus I have never taken the NUF test. I was wondering if it is like the practice test on Nukeworker and is there other practice test available.

Offline Brett LaVigne

• Very Heavy User
  • This aggression will not stand, man.
Re: NUF
« Reply #1 on: Sep 12, 2006, 08:35 »
I just took the test at Cook.  I did the quiz on this site and also downloaded the printable study guide from westrain.  It is called Nuclear Physics, The Atomic nature of matter.  That is the manual that I studied most.  The Pop quiz on this site is pretty good as a start but doesn't get nearly deep enough.  You need to actually understand why the answers are what they are.  The actual test is written much different.  Make sure you know your fission/corossion products and instrument theory.  Know how to calculate a point source and an air sample.  If you know and understand the material in the study guide that I mentioned you will be fine.  I missed 3 out of 50 and it was the first time I have taken this test in over 10 years.  Don't let it stress you too much, just do your homework.
I Heart Hippie Chicks!!!

Offline Rennhack

• Forum Administrator
« Reply #2 on: Sep 12, 2006, 08:48 »
downloaded the printable study guide from westrain.

The study guide is available for download from this site as well.

I do agree with you, that people have to learn the material, and not try to memorize answers.

wglewallen

« Reply #3 on: Oct 04, 2006, 04:25 »
Just a bit of information, I just took the test at Oconee. It is a lot heavier in detector theory than you might imagine. My advice would be to study all of the material and objectives at each lesson plan. The NUF test and what is on Nuke worker does not give a true picture, since the exams have been changed.     

wglewallen

« Reply #4 on: Oct 04, 2006, 04:50 »