Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu Newly enlisted looking for advises

Author Topic: Newly enlisted looking for advises  (Read 4348 times)

ntn9720

Newly enlisted looking for advises
« on: Sep 12, 2010, 12:31 »
I'm a 22 yrs old Asian women with US citizen. I'm a newly grad from college with a BS degree in Biomedical engineering (BME), GPA ~3.3, have a hard time looking for a job in the industry. Hiring freeze and all require so many yrs of experiences that I don't have
I just enlisted in the Navy as an avionic technician (AV) E-3, ship out in march 2011. Everything doesn't seem to fit together, a grad with BS in BME vs. Enlisted Navy AV. I'm confused myself too.  I chose the Navy bc I love to travel and I don't want to stuck to a boring civilian job, looking at computer screen all day. I feel that the Navy will bring challenge and make my life more interesting. Is my thinking correct?
Why not the officer program? For some reason, I want to first spend time doing the hand on jobs as an enlisted and later apply for the officer program (more leadership jobs). I feel that without doing the hand on jobs first, I won't be a good officer (especially I'm kind of a shy person, i don't feel like I'm qualify for military leadership just yet). Is my thinking normal or crazy? How hard is it to go from an enlisted to officer after 1-2 yrs? Is my chances higher with my degree?