Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu Power school vs nuclear technology associates.  

Author Topic: Power school vs nuclear technology associates.  (Read 9573 times)

RadiationSponge

Power school vs nuclear technology associates.
« on: Jun 29, 2010, 06:34 »
I am at a point in my life where I have to pick one of two paths.

1: I join the navy as an officer in the IT or electronics warfare programs. I get out after awhile and I use the G.I. Bill to pay for nuclear technology school.

2: I go enlisted navy nuke, take calculus physics before I depart and hope to god to get picked up as an officer (I understand officer ciriculum is different from enlisted)

My degree is in Biochemistry with a focus on medicinal chemistry.

Which way will likely be easier to get into a job at a powerplant as a reactor operator? The amount of money I could make as an officer over enlisted is substantial so I want to know if going enlisted would pay off in the end or if someone with my ending credentials if I went officer would still have a priority over many who apply.

Thank you very much!

JustinHEMI05

Re: Power school vs nuclear technology associates.
« Reply #1 on: Jun 29, 2010, 07:57 »
Enlisted nuclear would help you more than non-nuclear officer if you want to be an instant SRO. That is assuming you qualify EWS for at least 2 years as enlisted, or are an RO for at least 2 years or get picked up officer.

If not, then you will be an NLO. Same if you do a non-nuclear officer path.

That said, why not apply to be an NLO somewhere now? You will make more money faster and get to SRO faster that way as well.
« Last Edit: Jun 29, 2010, 07:57 by JustinHEMI »

RadiationSponge

« Reply #2 on: Jun 29, 2010, 09:18 »
I have been applying, I can't seem to even get an interview.

I live in Arizona and the plant here is full up. I've even sent my application to APS using a few people I know who are engineers at the plant as reference.