Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu Naval Reactors vs line officer on sub  

Author Topic: Naval Reactors vs line officer on sub  (Read 32522 times)

hmnguyen

Naval Reactors vs line officer on sub
« on: Nov 16, 2004, 06:18 »
I am currently attending UT at Austin and am about to graduate.  I am seriously considering joining the Navy under the Naval Reactors Engineer program (I'm not sure what the official name is, could someone enlighten me).  According to the recruiter, I would be stationed at Washington D.C. as a commissionned officer doing all sorts of things.  My first question is, what kind of responsibilities do these people have and what is a typical day like for one of these engineers?  It's important because the commitment is a good 5 years...

My second questions is, what are my chances getting into this program?  From what I understand, this is the most competitive program in the Navy.  My major is Electrical Engineering.  My G.P.A. is 3.78/4.0.  I'm taking many power systems classes and electromagnetic classes as well.

And for my last question, will the experience, skills, and respect associated with serving in the U.S. Navy be worth it?  I know I could be making twice as much in the civilian world.  My plan is, given that I choose to go through with joining the Navy in this program, I serve for five years, go to grad school, then work in a civilian company, where my degree, coupled with my experiences and skills from the Navy, will allow me to almost FLOAT into upper management...  Basically, my question is, is this a good career move?

Thank you!

jasonmsmith

Re: Naval Reactors Engineer
« Reply #1 on: Nov 16, 2004, 06:57 »