Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu Applying as a Nuke Officer honeypot

Author Topic: Applying as a Nuke Officer  (Read 6627 times)

DanDPU

Applying as a Nuke Officer
« on: Jul 10, 2006, 10:19 »
Hello All,

First off I wanted to thank all the experienced posters on the boards.  The past few weeks, I have been able to sift through these forums to get a lot of my questions answers about the Nuke field in the Navy.  These boards really are a great resource.

Right now I am a sophomore working on a Physics bachellor's degree, and the last months I've been strongly considering signing up for the NUPOC program as a Nuclear Power Officer.  For those who don't know much about the program, you apply during the middle of your sophomore year, and, if accepted, are paid as an enlisted for the remaining 30 months in college and receive a signing bonus.  After graduating, you are sent straight to OCS then a few months of Graduate School-level classes, then serve 5 years.

One of the common things I keep hearing from other Nuke boards is that a lot of people seem kinda bitter about serving as a nuke in the navy.  A lot of "You either hate it or tolerate it" comments.  What would you all say is the big thing that turns a lot of people off?  Is there some assumption that people have, that always turns out against them?  There also seems to be a lot of people trying to apply for Officer after or during their work as Enlisted.