Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu How to land an AO/NLO position honeypot

Author Topic: How to land an AO/NLO position  (Read 7745 times)

heavymetal atom

How to land an AO/NLO position
« on: Jan 23, 2009, 01:19 »
Hey guys,

First off I've been reading this forum for a while now and it's been very helpful.  So thanks to all who have contributed to the vast amount of info on this site.  I'm a recent college grad (finished B.S. Dec. 2008) and I've been applying for every AO/NLO position I can find online for a while now.  I have a fairly extensive Math/Physics/Chem coursework background in both College and Highschool.  However, so far I haven't had much success in terms of landing interviews or POSS testing.  I guess maybe being non-ex navy nuke hurts me some, but I'm not sure how badly.  I really want to get to the point where I can take the POSS somewhere because I'm confident that I'd do well on it.  I realize the downfalls of online apps and also the slow processing time, but it really seems to be the way things work right now.  So maybe I just need to keep applying and be really patient?  At the same time it's hard to know if my online apps are even being looked at.  Do I need to try to talk directly to people in Ops or HR at the various companies just to try to get my resume considered?  Any tips for how to get to people on the inside?  It's frustrating because some of the positions have minimum reqs and I feel overqualified, yet I don't hear back.  Anyone with any recent (or past) experience relevant to this would be greatly appreciated.  I'd also appreciate any info you have regarding upcoming AO/NLO positions with your company, and who's generally getting them.  Thanks in advance. 

Offline 93-383

• Heavy User
  • Tell Recruiters to use NukeWorker.com
Re: How to land an AO/NLO position
« Reply #1 on: Jan 23, 2009, 02:18 »