Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu Af. American Female with Bachelors degree in Physics go enlisted???

Author Topic: Af. American Female with Bachelors degree in Physics go enlisted???  (Read 20374 times)

bmoreliketrese

I am an African American female (not sure if that would help with my question but decided to throw it in there). I have a bachelor's degree in physics. I had a nuclear physics internship while in college and it seems that nuclear physics was one of the only topics in physics that I was great at. Problem is that my gpa wasn't that great (2.73) so I was told that in order to become a nuke engineer (which is reserved for officers) my best bet would be to go enlisted.  Is it worth becoming a nuke to get to be a nuclear engineer? How long does the process take?  (BTW, a 2.73 might as well be a 1.0. As competitive as the job market is. Jobs are interested in me until they see my gpa.) I want to work in the sciences I feel that this is the only way to do it. PLEASE HELP ... I would appreciate any advise or opinions offered. THANKS  ;)

Offline Starkist

• Very Heavy User
1) your skin color, gender, and any of that has no bearing on anything. You are seriously selling yourself short if you are getting caught up on that.

2) This question has been asked 100's of times, please search. edit:  typing "enlisted to officer" provides 3 pages of results.

3) gamecock went from enlisted to officer in the fashion you are wanting, but Im fairly certain he's gone over this process, again search.

« Last Edit: Jul 09, 2011, 05:52 by Starkist »

Sun Dog

your skin color, gender, and any of that has no bearing on anything.