Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu Curious about enlisting in Navy nuke program honeypot

Author Topic: Curious about enlisting in Navy nuke program  (Read 40227 times)

joeyj86

Curious about enlisting in Navy nuke program
« on: Jan 04, 2008, 03:36 »
Alright, I'm a 4th year college student (currently a music education major) at the University of North Florida with a 3.5 GPA.  I became frustrated with the career path I was on so, consumed with worry over where the rest of my college funds were going to come from, not to mention what I would study, I talked with a Navy recruiter.  After taking a practice ASVAB the recruiter suggested the nuke program, saying that I could enlist, and later apply for some sort of program that would allow me to go back and finish my bachelor's degree (I imagine it would be in some sort of engineering field?) and move on to OCS.  My concerns about this idea are twofold.  First off, I have a semester of school left before I'd enlist, as I need to bring my weight down and I've already signed up for housing.  I'm wondering what classes I should be pushing to make myself a more valuable candidate for whatever program I'm looking to get picked up for out of nuke school.  Secondly, and more generally, is enlisting really my best option here, or should I just tough out some sort of engineering degree out of my own pocket and try the program with a bachelor's degree.  Sorry to be so vague about everything, I'll appreciate whatever information I can get.

Joe

shayne

Re: Curious about enlisting in Navy nuke program
« Reply #1 on: Jan 04, 2008, 03:56 »