Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu Maintenance on Prototypes in New York? honeypot

Author Topic: Maintenance on Prototypes in New York?  (Read 6013 times)

brnrice

Maintenance on Prototypes in New York?
« on: Aug 01, 2008, 01:53 »
I’m currently a NNPS student. I’m getting out early next year. I was told that the prototypes in New York are to undergo maintenance sometime soon.

Does anyone have any info on this? Wasn’t able to find anything about this online. Is everyone going to have to go to prototype training in Charleston, SC now?

KJC88

Re: Maintenance on Prototypes in New York?
« Reply #1 on: Aug 01, 2008, 02:15 »
I asked a friend who's a NNPS student as well and he says he heard the same, that most likely they'll just stay in SC but who knows with the Navy :). Maybe someone knows accurate info.

JustinHEMI05

« Reply #2 on: Aug 01, 2008, 04:56 »
I would just caution anyone who does know, to be very careful about how they put it out. A little over a year ago, I thought I was helping some students out on here by putting out some of our maintenance stuff and the next thing I knew, I was in the CMC's office being told that I was damaging national security. The mods had to remove the posts. Just be careful, they treat the prototypes like ships... e.g. loose lips sink ships.

Justin

withroaj

« Reply #3 on: Aug 01, 2008, 05:06 »
If you heard from an instructor that a maintenance shutdown will divert a class from a prototype, it is probably true.  If you heard it from a student:  ask an instructor.  They might not know, but they can ask (and they will if you ask them).  The truth is, the proto-pals are OLD.  The MTSs in SC were both commissioned in the early 1960's, and the NY prototypes aren't exactly new either.  The only way they can continue to serve as living history museums/baby nuke playsets is through scheduled maintenance periods.