Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu Unsure of which route to take

Author Topic: Unsure of which route to take  (Read 9565 times)

Troles

Unsure of which route to take
« on: Aug 16, 2008, 02:54 »
I'm a sophomore majoring in Chemical Engineering with a concentration in Energy, minoring in Political Science. I went in DEP Navy yesterday as a Nuke, with a 95 on my ASVAB. I'm really interested in the NUPOC program, but am wary of my chances. I came into my college with a very poor preparation (technical high school) and struggled my freshmen year to catch up to my peers (our ChEg program is rated sixth in the world, hitting us with engineering classes our first semester). After speaking with my Chem and Cheg professors about my situation, they recommended retaking some of my core classes if I wished to stay in the major to strengthen my base. The way our program is structured, I'll now have to five years in school. I wouldn't mind enlisting, but with all the money and time I've spent, I'd rather stay in school. My GPA is an embarrassing 2.4, but with retaking the engineering classes, it will replace my poor grades and my GPA will go up. My questions are, should I apply for the NUPOC program after this winter, when my GPA will be higher and hope for the best? Or, should I switch out of ChEg, and go for a much easier Chem or Physics major, only spending another three years in school? Maybe it's a better idea to transfer to a school with NROTC? I'm in my college Army ROTC but I'm not sure if that will be of any help.

Thanks for any advice

Tiffany

Offline Gamecock

• Subject Matter Expert
  • "Perfection is the enemy of good enough."
Re: Unsure of which route to take
« Reply #1 on: Aug 16, 2008, 03:01 »