Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu Navy Nuke Questions honeypot

Author Topic: Navy Nuke Questions  (Read 26643 times)

Offline ashley027

• Lurker
Navy Nuke Questions
« on: Apr 09, 2009, 12:15 »
I am planning the join the Navy to go into the Nuclear Power Program. I am having my doubts with what the Navy recruiters are telling me, so I want to make everything clear before I sign anything.

First, I scored an 86 on the AFQT. The recruiters told me I had to take another exam. I believe it is the Napt if I'm not mistaken. But I find it highly suspicious that they would make me go to MEPS for the physical, and then enlist afterwards. AND THEN I get to take the Napt. Why can't I take the Napt before I enlist just to see if I qualify? Also, they mention it looks "bad" that I deny all of the jobs that are offered at MEPS if they don't have a nuke position available. 

Second, I have a Bachelor of Science Degree, so I heard of this loan repayment program that the Navy offers. Would I qualify for both the enlistment bonus and the loan repayment program?

Offline G-reg

• Heavy User
  • C'mere and chum some of this...
Re: Navy Nuke Questions
« Reply #1 on: Apr 09, 2009, 01:33 »
You are wise to question those Recruiters.  It seems that they are placing their interests ahead of yours.

If Nuke is what you truly want, then hold out for it - don't sign anything unless & until you receive a Nuke contract.

At some point in the enlistment process, you will be required to sign a piece of paper which includes a statement that verbal promises made by your Recruiter (or anybody else) mean zilch.  If they make a promise or a statement and they mean it, then they can put it in writing and get it reviewed/approved by their boss.

And if they think that something looks "bad", then they can damn well put that in writing too (unless of course it's a complete load of crap - which in the particular case you mentioned, it is).