Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu Grad Student Considering Navy Nuclear

Author Topic: Grad Student Considering Navy Nuclear  (Read 7935 times)

Innocent

Grad Student Considering Navy Nuclear
« on: May 18, 2009, 05:12 »
Hi there,

I'm quite happy to have found this forum since it seems to have nicely collected answers to many of the questions I've had about life as a Navy Nuke.  I'm still reading through some of the suggested threads, so perhaps some of these questions are answered there, but I thought I'd post and ask for some advice as well.

First though, a little bit about myself (and sorry about the length).  I am a third year Ph.D student in Chemical Engineering, I graduated with a 3.4 GPA from a top undergraduate program, with additional work in liberal arts and hard sciences.  I'm technically oriented and feel that I would have no problem whatsoever academically with the nuclear program.  I also have discovered recently that I enjoy management and leadership, especially when it comes to problem solving.

My best friend is a SWO(N), and is in his fourth year of service, so I am well informed with regards to what nuke school itself is like, as well as somewhat with what life in the surface fleet is like.

Given my own interests, my lack of any family attachments at the moment (though who knows when that may change?), and my growing boredom with my own line of work I am giving serious consideration to becoming a Submarine Officer.  When I finish my Ph.D I will be 29 years old, the maximum age allowed without waiver for applying to OCS for submarines.  I've long though about serving, and this looks to be my last chance to do so before having to live with that on my conscience for the rest of my life.  I also feel that the Navy would provide some serious motivation to getting on with my life and getting in (and staying in) physical shape.

Now some questions and concerns: