Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu How can I make my time in the Navy a good one? honeypot

Author Topic: How can I make my time in the Navy a good one?  (Read 25898 times)

USCredZ350

How can I make my time in the Navy a good one?
« on: Jun 03, 2009, 02:48 »
Hello everyone, this is my first time posting but I have been reading through all of the posts and I really appreciate everyone's input.  This website was a great idea and is packed with useful and intresting information.  A big thank you to everyone who has contributed to this website.

Now on to my main questions.  Firstly, I am currently in the DEP program for the Navy.  I took the ASVAB and exempted the NFQT so I was offered the NF rating while at MEPS.  I feel like I've gotten a pretty good idea of what to expect while in the Navy as a Nuke and what each of the ratings entail (MM, EM, ET).  My question is what are some general do's and do not's while in basic/schools/fleet.  In other words, what are some things that will help me improve my rate as quick as possible.  I've heard that playing politics won't fly well in the Navy but at the same time I've heard that to get what you want, you have to play politics.  What are some definite no no's as a nuke?  I've also heard that nuke's catch hell in basic training and I was hoping someone could give me an idea of what to expect when I do head off to GL.

Another question I have is this.  I currently have two friends who just graduated from the USNA.  Will they be able to help me out if I ever run into any problems while in the fleet, even if they aren't in the same job field as myself?