Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu Fatigue Management 10 CFR Part 26 and "shift cycle"

Author Topic: Fatigue Management 10 CFR Part 26 and "shift cycle"  (Read 10631 times)

nukedude

New guy here  8) 

I'm a Licensed Reactor Operator and have been for more than 10 years.  My utility recently implemented the Part 26 rules (waited until damn near the last minute, I know) and a few of us Operators think that some of the Part 26 requirements are being interpreted/used incorrectly as per the actual rule and I'm curious as to how your utilities are implementing this.

My question has to do with how is your utility interpreting what a "shift cycle" actually is?  To me, the actual rule is VERY clear.  The rule defines a shift cycle as... "Shift cycle means a series of consecutive work shifts and days off that is planned by the licensee or other entity to repeat regularly, thereby constituting a continuous shift schedule."

We have 5 crews, work 12 hour days, and rotate every 5 weeks.  A very normal/typical 5 week rotating shift schedule.  While it would seem very clear to me that we are on a 5 week shift cycle, my utility is using a 6 week shift cycle for the purposes of calculating our minimum days off requirements.