Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu Direct SRO CandiDate Question honeypot

Author Topic: Direct SRO CandiDate Question  (Read 12029 times)

Offline TJF

• Very Lite User
Direct SRO CandiDate Question
« on: Feb 19, 2010, 04:55 »
Hello everyone, I have a question about direct SRO programs.  I have no background in commercial nuclear power and am considering a direct SRO candidate position.  

1.  I am assuming that the 6 months on site prior to starting the licensing class are spent in one of the sections learning about the plant.  Is this correct?

2.  Once the licensing class starts, are the candidates attached to a section the whole time?  I think so, but just wondering if there are some classroom type portions of the training.

I am especially interested in how TVA does it, but insight on how other places do it would be great too.

(If it matters, I am a retired Navy nuke, 6 years as an Electronics Technician and 14 years as an O-ganger considering an offer at Browns Ferry.)

Thanks,
T.J.
« Last Edit: Feb 20, 2010, 07:52 by TJF »

Offline Nuclear NASCAR

• Electrician
  • Forum Administrator
  • Everyone needs a Harley. Mine's furry with 4 legs.
Re: Direct SRO Candiate Question
« Reply #1 on: Feb 19, 2010, 05:17 »
T.J.,

Here are a few threads that discuss the SRO & Direct SRO routes:

http://www.nukeworker.com/forum/index.php?topic=10736.0

http://www.nukeworker.com/forum/index.php?topic=10775.0

http://www.nukeworker.com/forum/index.php?topic=9140.0

http://www.nukeworker.com/forum/index.php?topic=7858.0

I've sent you a PM with a couple of very knowledgeable folks in regards to TVA. 

Best of luck & Thank You for your service,
Tom
"There is much pleasure to be gained from useless knowledge."

-Bertrand Russell

adrianI

« Reply #2 on: Feb 19, 2010, 05:37 »
Hello everyone, I have a question about direct SRO programs.  I have no background in commercial nuclear power and am considering a direct SRO candidate position.