Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu Chemistry Major here, doesn't know what to do. honeypot

Author Topic: Chemistry Major here, doesn't know what to do.  (Read 4449 times)

Offline vbre101

• Very Lite User
Chemistry Major here, doesn't know what to do.
« on: Mar 13, 2010, 01:13 »
Hey guys,
I'm a current freshman at the University of Central Florida and want to Major in Chemistry with a Minor in Physics. I have been wanting to join the service since I was a LET 1 in JROTC my 5 years ago. I went crazy trying to find which branch would help me get what I want to become. My aspirations are to become a Medical Researcher then later become a Chemistry Professor/ High School Teacher. Sounds like a lot but becoming a professor/teacher is when I am around 45-50 yrs old. I know I can go to medical school with any degree. I have to pass the MCATS and what not.

In my search, I found that becoming a Navy Nuke is the only way of gaining experience in the chemistry field. Figured why not, heck I'm getting annoyed at pointless classes here at UCF anyways... and arrogant students as well. So I want to serve and gain experience, who doesn't? But I'm not sure if going Navy Nuke will help be gain my degree in Chemistry/Physics and help me in the long run to become a medical researcher. On top of that I'm not sure what to choose Active/Reservist. I have been told by many to choose Reservist because that way I still get to go to school and have a job. Anyone have any suggestions?

Offline vbre101

• Very Lite User
Re: Chemistry Major here, doesn't know what to do.
« Reply #1 on: Mar 13, 2010, 02:23 »
Thanks, I appreciate it.

Offline superbee

• Very Lite User
« Reply #2 on: May 13, 2010, 12:28 »