Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu Asked a million times, but I'm different (haha)

Author Topic: Asked a million times, but I'm different (haha)  (Read 4026 times)

U_235

Asked a million times, but I'm different (haha)
« on: Mar 30, 2010, 01:14 »
Hello Folks,

I know it gets asked 1000 times-a-day, “How do I get in?”  But I’m hoping I might be just a little bit unique.

After 22 years as a very successful electrical engineer, I am making a career change and Nuclear Power is where I WILL BE. 
Here’s why…
Not only am I a great engineer, but I am also motor head, can teardown and rebuild an engine in my sleep, so excellent mechanical skills.  I am also a carpenter, plumber and electrician, built my own house.  I am an inventor, built all kinds of mechanical, pneumatic and hydraulic devices to do cool things around my house. 
Although as an engineer I design very small things (I am a semiconductor design engineer) I love big things and systems.  My favorite way to spend my lunch hour was in the basement of the building looking at the heat exchangers, pumps and such, or in the penthouse looking at the elevator system.  I’d bet if someone showed me a system in a nuke plant, after looking at it and it’s associated components, I could tell them what it is, what it does, how it does it, it’s most likely failure mechanisms and potential PM required.  Oh ya, I am also a world-class diagnostician, not just cars and appliances, but, I have on many occasions had to diagnose and repair systems in a semiconductor facility.  Systems of all types, high-pressure gas handling, vacuum, liquid cooling, etc. etc. etc.