Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu I want a challenge honeypot

Author Topic: I want a challenge  (Read 5356 times)

Ranger

I want a challenge
« on: May 09, 2010, 04:01 »
Hello everyone, I've been lurking this site for awhile now, and it has been immeasurably helpful. I've tried searching the forums for an answer to my problem, but I haven't found anything specific enough.

The situation for me is, I skated through highschool with a 2.0 GPA up until my senior year, in which I recieved a 3.8. So, I'm not really university material. I scored a 92 on my ASVAB and a 58 on the NAPT. I'm thinking of pursuing the nuke program because I'm really looking for a challenge. I graduated highschool May of '09, and have been dealing with familial problems since then. I'm worried about the 6 year contract of the program and how big of a commitment it is.

I guess the real question I have is whether or not going through the Nuclear program will help with getting into a university after the 6 year contract. Say I finish my six years and start applying for colleges (I'm not really interested in going commercial nuke), will they disregard my horrible high school grades and I could possibly get into a top college, or will I be plagued forever with my high school grades?

Has anyone had any problems with getting into college after being a navy nuke?

Thanks in advance.

Offline cheme09

• Moderate User
Re: I want a challenge
« Reply #1 on: May 09, 2010, 08:12 »
From your senior year grades, it's apparent that you're fully capable of doing well in school.  If you do decide to enlist, work hard, do well, and you should have more than a few achievements to showcase for your hard work and be proud of - colleges will pick up on this.  You can even highlight these things in your entrance essay.