Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu Advice for soon to be Graduate

Author Topic: Advice for soon to be Graduate  (Read 6078 times)

RTHinesley

Advice for soon to be Graduate
« on: Oct 29, 2010, 12:16 »
Hey guys and gals, I'm a soon to be grad from Georgia Tech with a BSNRE.  My program GPA is a 2.79 and I've TA'd at GT.  I also had a part time job working at Geek Squad throughout my whole time at Tech to help pay for school, fraternity, and car.  So, I have no real relevant experience in the industry with the exception of taking the Nondestructive Analysis Applications for International Safeguards Training Lab at ORNL.  I found that Safeguards and Safety were the two most interesting topics that I enjoyed the most.  IAEA doesn't want anyone without 5 years experience for the most part.  Anything shielding and safety pretty much requires 3-5 years experience as well as tons of certifications.  I've really only found power jobs in the entry level but no safety and shielding.  Any advice?  Thanks

fission_frenzy

Re: Advice for soon to be Graduate
« Reply #1 on: Oct 30, 2010, 01:17 »
Best bet is to get your foot in the door by any means necessary, even if it has nothing to do with your field of study. Gotta start somewhere gaining experience in the industry.

JustinHEMI05

« Reply #2 on: Oct 30, 2010, 02:06 »
Sounds to me like you should be looking for non-licensed operator type jobs.

TN_LELT

« Reply #3 on: Oct 30, 2010, 02:24 »
If you are interested in possibilities outside of the power generation side of the house, Y-12 currently has a posting out for a new graduate nuclear engineer.  Did you make any good contacts while you were attending your IAEA lab at ORNL?  If  you did, perhaps they could give you some leverage at Y-12.