Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu My "nuclear journey" thus far.....

Author Topic: My "nuclear journey" thus far.....  (Read 73435 times)

Offline yota

• Moderate User
My "nuclear journey" thus far.....
« on: Nov 06, 2010, 08:41 »
I don't post here much, but I constantly lurk and keep seeing the same questions pop up around here. In seeing this, I thought it might be helpful to share my personal story about how I got where I am. I will start with some background information on myself. Within this information, you will see hints relating to some of the obstacles I had to overcome to get to this point.

I am 27 years old from a small town and grew up knowing, without a doubt, that I wanted to be a mechanic when I "grew up." I graduated high school in May, 2001 towards the top of my class having completed many advanced courses while maintaining a fairly respectable grade point average. My biggest problem with any life endeavor is that I almost always end up bored once I truly figure something out- in fact, it drives me crazy when I'm not learning something new. I grew up working in my family's HVAC business during the summers and sometimes on the weekends. I went to a community college after high school and studied automotive systems before landing a job at the local BMW dealership. Three, or so, years later I became bored with working on cars and came to despise the amount of money I was spending on my personal tool collection. I left the industry and lept into the world of warehousing and international freight forwarding (logistics). Within one year, I was the warehouse manager and life was "good." Unfortunately, even in a field dubbed the name "logistics", I realized that none of the problems presented to me took any real effort to solve. In the end, I once again became bored- then the economy hit and I lost that job. Fast forward a few months and I am sitting in a recruiter's office talking about my options.