Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu Going into Navy. Thinking about Nuke. PLEASE HELP!
honeypot

Author Topic: Going into Navy. Thinking about Nuke. PLEASE HELP!  (Read 4719 times)

pccfootballplayer

I just have a few questions about going in as a navy nuke. i know that's where the money is and quick advancement. But if i'm gonna make a career out of it i'm gonna wanna enjoy my job. I understand it is alot lot of Mental work. but how much physical work is there. I've always liked physical work more then sitting at a desk. I guess what i'm pretty much asking is what does a navy nuke do on a day to day basis. If it helps you out any i think my recruiter is trying to put me in as a MM.

My next question is getting into the nuke program. i got an 80 on my asvab and now my recruiter says i have to take the napt. I just need to know what to study up on or if there are any study guides out there.

Offline seconskin552

• Light User
  • I'm not a doctor. I am only five years old!
Re: Going into Navy. Thinking about Nuke. PLEASE HELP!
« Reply #1 on: Nov 15, 2010, 03:24 »
The NAPT has been covered at least a hundred times. Search "NAPT" in the search bar. Enjoy

For your first question, what I have gleaned is that there is a lot of sitting and recording numbers, and not a whole lot of physical work except for cleaning and maintaining the reactor. I could be wrong however. (Excluding PT that every sailor does of course).

VR,

Secon

Offline still_in

• Light User
« Reply #2 on: Nov 15, 2010, 05:48 »

For your first question, what I have gleaned is that there is a lot of sitting and recording numbers, and not a whole lot of physical work except for cleaning and maintaining the reactor. I could be wrong however. (Excluding PT that every sailor does of course).

That whole "maintaining the reactor" thing is a pretty demanding thing, especially on older plants.  May not always be physically challenging but you can bet it will be exhausting.

Fermi2