Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu Out of field 12 years, any chance to get in?

Author Topic: Out of field 12 years, any chance to get in?  (Read 3118 times)

kvt

Out of field 12 years, any chance to get in?
« on: Nov 19, 2010, 02:31 »
Hello all.  I earned a Master's degree in Nuclear Engineering in 1998, but have worked in the water resources field (simultaneously earned an MS in Civil in '98) since graduating.  I have done very well in this field, recently being promoted to head the water resources department for the company I work for.  However, nuclear has always been my first love, but there just weren't any jobs around when I graduated back in '98.  I recently had to do some work for an anti-nuke group  >:(, and my stomach still turns at the idea.  This lit a fire under my rear to see just how much the industry has bounced back in the past few years, and see what job opportunities may exist out there.

As an undergrad, I majored in physics and worked for the RSO for 3 years.  My grad school was paid for with a DOE OCRWM fellowship.  As such, my program focussed on waste management and health physics, but of course touched on many other aspects of nuclear power generation and plant design.

Anyone with any feel as to whether my management experience combined with my education could be a winning combination in the industry, or after 12 years of working with water, is my destiny pretty well locked in place?

Thanks for any input you may have!

Offline Bradtv

• Moderate User
  • NukeLurker
Re: Out of field 12 years, any chance to get in?
« Reply #1 on: Nov 20, 2010, 12:55 »
I think the only real question is what type of position do you wish to apply for?