Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu Civilian Nuclear Questions

Author Topic: Civilian Nuclear Questions  (Read 3307 times)

FreeTheBirds

Civilian Nuclear Questions
« on: Mar 03, 2011, 11:15 »
Hey all,

I'm a civilian DOE contractor working at one of the navy prototype training facilities, training naval personnel on how to operate their reactors. I've been qualified EOOW for a while now, and hopefully will be qualifying our version of engineer in the relatively near future. I'm contemplating a future move into the civilian nuclear field, and have several questions.

First, from what I gather, positions like ROs and AOs are actually in the plants/control rooms, operating valves and switches and the like (the equivalent of the ETs and MMs of the Navy world), whereas the SRO is in more of the supervisory role. Is this correct? Ideally, I would like to go in as an SRO, since my training has always been in the supervisory role, vice the actually putting-hands-on-things role.

Second, beyond the obvious differences in the size, number, and complexity of the systems, what differences are there in how the plants are operated? I gather that the navy paradigm doesn't work so well when you're dealing an a structure that is not so strictly hierarchical. It also seems, from what I've heard from people who have made the shift from one to the other, that while things like start-ups and shutdowns are more complex, transient situations performed on a daily basis tend to be slower and not so extreme (that probably doesn't include problem scenarios, which things can move just as quickly, I would imagine.

Really, I'm just trying to get some information on making that jump. Any helpful tips you could give me would help, and I'm sure I'll have more questions as the time goes on.

JustinHEMI05

Re: Civilian Nuclear Questions
« Reply #1 on: Mar 04, 2011, 10:08 »