Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu Not a nuke going for STA-21 honeypot

Author Topic: Not a nuke going for STA-21  (Read 24880 times)

agale

Not a nuke going for STA-21
« on: Mar 28, 2011, 10:43 »
Hi there,

First, some info about me:
I'm a 23 yr old, female, CTI3, 2.5 years in the navy. Prior to the navy, I graduated high school early because I had maxed out the local math program, but with a low GPA of 2.7. I went to college at 16, majored in Mathematics and Astrophysics. Dropped out at 18. GPA was 2.4 maybe? I was a math whiz through highschool, and always intended to get a bachelors, and probably masters in math, but I was way too young, and I realized I wasn't ready to go that route. Travelled for a few years, wandering aimlessly and such, enlisted, almost signed on as a nuke, but decided I still wasn't ready to get back into math, though it is still my passion. Instead, elected to learn a foreign language.

After enlisting, I hit the ground running. RPCO in basic, then off to DLI where I eventually graduated top of my class, maxed out scores in Arabic and Iraqi dialect (unheard of), and received the army achievement medal and DLI commandants award. Then went on to our C-school, where I again graduated top of the class. Currently blazing through my work, numerous collateral duties, all that good stuff.

So, here's the thing, I think finally I'm ready to get back into math. I'm actually eager to start finishing up my degree, and I feel I've finally learned enough discipline etc to really get something out of it. I'm applying for the STA-21 program currently, and I personally feel I'd be best suited to the Nuke field. I know that I can't actually apply for it directly since I'm not already in the nuclear pipeline, however, I've been led to believe that I could get accepted to the CORE option, then prove myself and possibly select nuke, assuming I meet all the other prerequisites. So first, if anyone could confirm that, excellent.