Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu Advice for a HP grad student
honeypot

Author Topic: Advice for a HP grad student  (Read 15135 times)

Offline dangsy

• Light User
Advice for a HP grad student
« on: May 03, 2011, 07:32 »
I recently finished my first year as Masters of Health Physics grad student.  So far I've been sending out my resume left and right to any entry level position I've been able to find for the past year and a half, without even a single nibble.  Goverment jobs on USAjobs, local powerplant positions, DoE internships, Northrop, anything...

I have a BS in Biology and Physics, minor in Chem, 3.2gpa.  On to my 2nd year in the HP program with a 3.5gpa.

I have 4 years of experience doing administrative duties [to pay my way through college], but no actual radiation experience.

Is there anything I can do to boost my resume? Certifications?

Should I look into the Navy route?

Thank you

Offline indoprime

• HP on a stick
  • Moderate User
  • You got two choices..deal with it, or deal with it
Re: Advice for a HP grad student
« Reply #1 on: May 03, 2011, 10:39 »
As a former grad student, i empathize with you.  So, here's what you might try to do. Take a semester off from the books, and do some commercial outages. They're always short of help, so you can go in as a junior tech. Call Kristy Inman @ SHaw Group or Roxanna @Atlantic....  they're both good companies to work for, and they're junior -friendly.

Good Luck!
Excuses are tools of the incompetent which create monuments of nothingness, Those who specialize in their uses seldom achieve anything.

Offline dangsy

• Light User
« Reply #2 on: May 03, 2011, 01:05 »
Thank you for the advice!

are commercial outages readily available to work on?  Would Summer be a good time to start?  I have a class I was planning to take this Summer, but I can definitely put that on hold...

Offline RDTroja

• Site Heretic
  • Gold Member
  • I knew I got into IT for a reason!