NukeWorker Menu nuke to nupoc  

Poll

best way to go from enlisted nuke to nupoc officer

nuke
1 (10%)
civilian
9 (90%)

Total Members Voted: 7

Author Topic: nuke to nupoc  (Read 11029 times)

airbear

nuke to nupoc
« on: May 23, 2011, 11:53 »
I just got an enlisted nuke contract with the navy, i got a $12,000 signing bonus, got a 93 on my asvap (perfect in everything besides English) and my recruiter and a lot of other guys told me that I can go from nuke to nupoc. I realize that there is no guarantee of this, but I was hoping that I could possibly get some assistance from someone on the inside as to what would be the best way to get to nupoc from the inside. A little background on me, I am currently a student at a community college working towards a degree in physics and mathematics. I have a 3.5 GPA and I have one more semester before i have my dual associates in physics and math. then my ship date is December 28th. Iv been working two jobs while going to school full time and living an hour away from both school and both my jobs. So work ethic is not an issue, any advice anyone has to offer would be greatly appreciated. my goal is to get a job as a nuclear reactor engineer. and my future goal is to work with theoretical physics.

Cycoticpenguin

Re: nuke to nupoc
« Reply #1 on: May 24, 2011, 12:10 »
you can not comission without a baccaluareate... not sure who told you otherwise...

Good luck. Others will chime in, Im sure.

« Last Edit: May 24, 2011, 11:54 by Charlie Murphy »

Offline greenbean

• Moderate User
« Reply #2 on: May 24, 2011, 12:55 »
I don't know why your recruiter didn't just have you go straight for NUPOC. You do need a 4 year degree, so getting into an engineering program would be essential if you want to even think about NUPOC.

1) Get accepted to a well respected 4 year program
2) Apply for NUPOC as soon as your are accepted to the college
3) Pray Naval Reactors takes your package before your ship date.