Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu Requesting advice on becoming an NLO

Author Topic: Requesting advice on becoming an NLO  (Read 3653 times)

Offline mspack09

• Very Lite User
Requesting advice on becoming an NLO
« on: Jul 13, 2011, 12:47 »
Hello, this is my first time posting here.  I've been researching the forums for a while and found a lot of good information.  Does anyone have some spare time to take a look at my resume?  I would really appreciate any suggestions you might be able to provide me with.

Here's some of my background:  I am an ex-Navy ET nuke but I got out after 4 years due to medical reasons which are no longer an issue.  I had no trouble going through the pipeline and qualified RO on my submarine within six months of arriving.  I got out in 2009 and have been attending college while using the GI bill ever since.  Right now I have no more than two semesters left until I complete my Bachelor's degree in Nuclear Engineering Technology from Excelsior College (regionally and ABET accredited).  

I would also like to know how much information from previous work experience would I be required to know to land a job as an NLO?  From my research, it seems as if completing the POSS test is the only requirement, but is there other information I should relearn?

I am really looking forward to working at a nuclear power plant so any advice would be warmly welcomed.  Thank you for your time.
« Last Edit: Jul 13, 2011, 12:47 by mspack09 »

Offline GatorNuke007

• Light User
Re: Requesting advice on becoming an NLO
« Reply #1 on: Jul 19, 2011, 10:57 »