Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu NUPOC instructor to NR Engineer  

Author Topic: NUPOC instructor to NR Engineer  (Read 9394 times)

anonymity

NUPOC instructor to NR Engineer
« on: Aug 07, 2011, 05:15 »
Hello,

I am an undergrad math and ME student going to a state university. I am entering my second (of five) years, and have finished all of the calculus sequences (1 through 3), and both calc based general physics courses (mechanics and E&M), with As in them all (except possibly E&M, which is teetering on the borderline of an A and a B currently).

I have been interested in nupoc since I heard about it in my freshman year, and originally wanted to go SUBs, but have decided that it's not for me (I want to do something technical -- ie naval reactors -- or something which will allow me to stay in a technical setting while in the navy -- ie go to grad school part time while teaching at NPS).

Naval Reactors is my first choice, instructor second. I currently have a 3.7 GPA, but that is in a large part due to the fact I got Bs in both of my my gen-ed (non technical) classes last year.

So my questions are as follows:

1) What is the likelyhood of a qualified candidate being transferred from Instructor to NR Engineer? Assume that the navy has a relative need. Currently, navynupoc.blogspot has this posted

"If you are a current NUPOC submarine volunteer that meets those wickets and would like to switch to NR
        then let your recruiter know. "