Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu SCANA questions  

Author Topic: SCANA questions  (Read 5313 times)

Offline Meatwad_757

• Lurker
SCANA questions
« on: Mar 28, 2012, 08:00 »
Quick bits of information - I was a nuke EM for 10 years and got out last Jun as an E-6. I failed to research commercial nuclear power adequately when I was looking for a job and instead took a job in Oregon at a semiconductor manufacturer.

I've been working as a test engineering technician for 9 months and it's not for me. I have learned some new skills, but I want to get into commercial nuclear power. After reading various posts on this site I'm certain that aux operator is the best starting point for me. I applied for an aux operator position at SCANA and did some research on the company/site. I was wondering if anyone here has experience from the V.C. Summer nuclear generating station. Specifically thoughts on the area, where one would live that worked at the plant, if it's even a good plant (work environment wise).
Thank you in advance for your responses.

P.S - I was looking and applying for the completely wrong positions when I was transitioning. Contellation Energy threw me a bone after a job fair in Groton, CT and I got a job offer to be a maintenance electrician. I probably should have taken it, but I didn't want to live in southern Canada ya know (I know it's in Lake Oswego, NY)? I really wanted to find something at diablo canyon or SONGS, but they weren't hiring at the time.

« Last Edit: Mar 28, 2012, 08:14 by Meatwad_757 »

HeavyD

Re: SCANA questions
« Reply #1 on: Mar 28, 2012, 10:11 »
I’m working for the NND (New Nuclear Deployment) group at VC Summer.  So, I can’t speak too much for the folks over at Unit 1 and Operations.  I have a few friends over there, including two guys who actually worked for me when I was the CLELT at NPTU back in the late-90’s.