Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu NUPOC Officer Program - Question about Leave time and Vacation
honeypot

Author Topic: NUPOC Officer Program - Question about Leave time and Vacation  (Read 4436 times)

Offline drewster1

• Lurker
So I'm a college student about to graduate I've  applied for the NUPOC program and have an interview date for with the Admiral in DC but I have some questions before I step foot on that plane bound for DC.  How does leave time and vacation time work through all stages of the 5 year commitment? I am very curious to know how and when I would be able to spend time with my family that will be back and home and my girlfriend (very possibly going to be my wife here soon). Any replies I thank you ahead of time.

Offline spekkio

• Very Heavy User
Leave for active duty accrues at 2.5 days/month. You can have a maximum of 60 days carry over to the next FY (which starts in Oct and ends in Sept).

If you take leave over a weekend, it counts against your balance. In civvy world, if you take a long Thurs-Tues weekend, you use 2 days. In the military that's 4.

There will be many times where you can't take leave -- OCS, nuclear power school, prototype, SOBC, and if your boat is due to go to sea.

In your first two years of service, you can expect to be able to take leave while traveling between training commands and travelling from SOBC to the boat. This will typically amount to 1-2 weeks during each travel time.

After that, it's up to where the boat is on its deployment cycle. If you're in-port around the holidays, you'll get a week around then (typically single guys get the 2nd week where you get New Year's off). Otherwise, yea, no predictions.

Offline Gamecock

• Subject Matter Expert
  • "Perfection is the enemy of good enough."
Leave for active duty accrues at 2.5 days/month. You can have a maximum of 60 days carry over to the next FY (which starts in Oct and ends in Sept).