Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu A little advice/help for a not-so-recent graduate?
honeypot

Author Topic: A little advice/help for a not-so-recent graduate?  (Read 4947 times)

Offline apate60

• Very Lite User
I've been using this site for a while to check for opportunities, but I'm new to the forums here.

I searched through a few threads about advice for recent grads and picked up a few tips I hadn't heard before, so that was great.

My situation is a little different from the typical posts I saw, however. I graduated a little less than two years ago with a B.S. in nuclear engineering from UIUC. I immediately took a job with a family owned retail store thinking it would be temporary for a few months while I found a better job. I have been working there continually since graduation. I received my EIT license a few months after graduation as well.
EDIT: I should mention that I have passed the BMST and POSS exams as well.

What I have been searching for these last two years is an AO position to get started in plant operations. I live in the midwest, and was able to get a few interviews in the earlier stages of my hunt, for which I was not properly prepared. I can only blame myself for that. What is troubling me is that since those early stages, I have not been contacted for any interviews.

My experience and extracurriculars were never that strong to begin with, another shortcoming of mine. But my resume has not changed significantly, but I have taken advice from some contacts I have in the engineering and nuclear industries to make changes in the layout and descriptions.
I know companies would prefer fresher graduates, but am I really being handicapped that much after a year and a half?

If that happens to be the case, then what options could I pursue to fix it?