Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu Officer vs. Enlisted honeypot

Author Topic: Officer vs. Enlisted  (Read 7305 times)

Offline NoahZark

• Lurker
Officer vs. Enlisted
« on: Jun 05, 2013, 05:27 »
At first glance I know this should be an obvious answer but there are more in depth complications and scenarios behind all this.

I graduated college this past December and kind of stagnated for a while and then started looking into the Navy. My GPA was 3.0, not necessarily impressive, and my degree is B.S. in Advertising and my minor is marketing (I managed to minor and major in the same exact thing which is a horrible decision). I talked to a recruiter that deals with officers and he said i was "competitive" and my degree and background qualify me for Intelligence, Surface Warfare, Supply Core, and Aviation officer programs. I have yet to take the ASTB and that will probably have more weight in pushing me in one direction but only one of these boards convenes after this point in the year and thats intelligence. So there will be a long waiting time to determine if I get accepted into any of these programs or accepted into none of them. With this waiting period I am really hesitant and do not want to stagnate much longer because I need to start going in the right direction. So I took the ASVAB and scored well enough to qualify for the Nuke program, which in itself worries me because I have heard that they are miserable and lot of them suffer from depression.

With this timetable should I wait to see what the Officer boards say? Are my hopes of going in directly as an Officer realistic? What are the barriers and circumstances to becoming an officer once enlisted? Will being a Nuke increase my chances to become an officer once enlisted?

P.S. Navy was always something I wanted to do just ended up going a different route and ended up back where I was and wish I would have just enlisted then.

Thank You

Offline spekkio

• Very Heavy User
Re: Officer vs. Enlisted