Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu Joining Navy Nukes? honeypot

Author Topic: Joining Navy Nukes?  (Read 8920 times)

bic

Joining Navy Nukes?
« on: Sep 27, 2013, 04:35 »
I couldn't think of a more original subject line.
I'm a 21-year-old senior in undergrad in Chicago studying Finance & Stats with a 3.9 GPA. I've had a few internships and have been bored out of my mind at all of them. I'm going to need to start looking for full-time jobs in a year and I still feel like a kid. I want to defer entering the adult world.

I'm also not totally sure as to what I want to do with my life. I'm pretty passionate about options and currencies trading, but I'm not sure that I want to do it for somebody else. But long story short: I just want to do something meaningful and useful with my life while having time to think.

I considered Navy, Air Force, and Coast Guard. I'm fairly set on the Navy just because I think that big ass warships are really cool. It sounds like a dumb reason, but I have to pick a branch, don't I? And Navy seemed like they have more interesting jobs.

So I went in to speak with a recruiter today. He gave me the practice ASVAB and I scored a 96, which is good apparently. I think that I can get it up to a 99 once I spend an hour remembering how all of the arithmetic that I haven't done since high school works on paper. Haven't had to do calculations by hand in a while.

I read about joining as an officer and how it offers better quality of life and compensation. But I also want a job that's challenging and has carry-over to the civilian world. I know nothing about nuclear power, but I've always been good with scientific subjects and I'm sure that I'll do fine if I apply myself. But it does sound like an interesting field that I may, and hopefully will, end up liking even more than finance.