Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu Nuclear Technician  

Author Topic: Nuclear Technician  (Read 21082 times)

Offline hamirick

• Light User
Nuclear Technician
« on: Oct 23, 2013, 10:37 »
Hello,

I am interested in becoming a Nuclear Technician. I was home schooled and have a 4.0GPA, however, no diploma. I do have my GED, and some college, also with a 4.0GPA and on the President's List. I am currently a web developer and have maintained the same job for 4+ years. I am 23 years-old.

I am curious, would I need to go to college, or is on the job training an option? If college is required, are there any options for them in North Georgia? Online courses?

Also, I know the background check are strict, I have never touched drugs, and have never had any violent charges against me, but I do have a bad driving record.... would that be an issue?

Are there any job openings around North Georgia?

This job interest me, as I feel like I am at the end of my web development career. I like my job, but it does not challenge me anymore, and I feel like it's time for a big change. Quite honestly, I want to provide a better life for my wife, and future children. My brother, who is an electrical engineer and has worked in Nuclear Power Plants, had mentioned Nuclear Tech to me as an option for my aptitude.

I'm just looking for some basic guidance, and advise from a pro.

Thank you!

Fermi2

Re: Nuclear Technician
« Reply #1 on: Oct 23, 2013, 11:49 »
See that neat button in the right side of this page labeled SEARCH?

Offline hamirick

• Light User
« Reply #2 on: Oct 23, 2013, 11:58 »
Thanks for the "information".

I was actually hoping to hear from someone that is familiar with the job itself.

I already used the search function. I already looked for schools in my area, as well as job placement opportunities.

I am simply looking for someone who is in the field to give me viable feedback from actual knowledge in the field.