Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu Grad School  

Author Topic: Grad School  (Read 7591 times)

Val_US

Grad School
« on: Jan 29, 2005, 09:44 »
For anyone out there with any grad work done, what are the better schools and programs for Nuke Officers to get into?  I am majoring in Mechanical Engineering (Concentration in Nuclear Engineering) and am going to apply for a graduate education program.  I am wonderng if anyone has any first-hand experience.  I have searched alot of schools, but personal testiments always prove more valuable for real information.  Thanks.

Offline Already Gone

• Curmudgeon At Large
  • Very Heavy User
  • Did I say that out loud?
Re: Grad School
« Reply #1 on: Jan 29, 2005, 10:36 »
As I understand it, you are still an undergrad.  So, you are not yet a Navy officer.
Therefore, I think it is premature for you to be applying for a grad school that isn't going to happen for years.
One of us is having a misunderstanding.
Either you are going to join the Navy as a nuke officer, or you are going to grad school.  You can't do both at the same time.  So, my question is; in what order do you think you will be doing these things?
If it is the Navy first, then grad school is years away.  You'll go after you get out, or you'll be a career officer and go when they tell you you can.  Either way, it is at least four or five years away.
If it's grad school first, why?  The Navy doesn't actively look for people with post-grad degrees in nuc. eng.  Most nuke officers are ME's or EE's with a BS degree and impressive GPA's.
Talk to a nuke officer recruiter before you get too far into this process.
"To be content with little is hard; to be content with much, impossible." - Marie von Ebner-Eschenbach

Val_US

« Reply #2 on: Jan 29, 2005, 11:20 »