Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu Be a Navy Reactors Engineer? [Merged]

Author Topic: Be a Navy Reactors Engineer? [Merged]  (Read 33680 times)

brentd49

Be a Navy Reactors Engineer? [Merged]
« on: Apr 06, 2004, 01:47 »
I recently attended attended a Job Fair, and after talking to the representative and telling him my GPA and that I am studying electrical engineering he suggested becoming a Naval Reactor Engineer.

It sounded like a good deal. They pay me for my last 24 months in college and then teach me all this stuff about nuclear engineering for free. But I am curious exactly what they teach and how long I am obligated to stay in the Navy. I say this because I am mainly interested in learning new things, and free education sounds good to me. But I don't want to be restricted to Naval Nukes for the rest of my life.

moke

Re: Be a Navy Reactors Engineer?
« Reply #1 on: Apr 06, 2004, 01:59 »
The USN provides superior training that you will not find anywhere else. Like anything else in life; there is a price to pay & NOTHING comes for free.

In our country, we have many choices yet we need to be prepared to sacrifice in this world of give and take. Of importance is the fact that you need to decide if you want to represent our country or are you in it just for the ride?

If you simply intend to become a passenger then I recommend that you look elsewhere. The US Navy Nuclear program is superior and it deserves great committment by all!

Have an Awesome Week!

Moke

pjkapinos

« Reply #2 on: Apr 06, 2004, 02:07 »
Hello Brentd49,
Should you accept their offer, a lot will happen for you in the last two years of university.  For one, they will either pay for the school or you will be paid directly as a wage.  You will be in the US Navy from that point on and one the degree is completed, obligated to four years of service as a commissioned officer.